foreign documents of education

Foreign high school diploma/secondary education certificates may be recognized on the basis of:

  1. by the power of law (member countries of European Union, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development)
  2. international agreements
  3. decision of the Educational Office.


Degree diploma obtained abroad may be recognized on the basis of:

  1. international agreeements
  2. art. 326 par. 1-3 of the Law on Higher Education and Science,
  3. nostrification.  


If the candidate has any doubts or questions concerning his/her diploma he/she can submit them for initial verification by electronic correspondance to


All secondary qualification certificates and higher education diplomas obtained outside of Poland need to be certified with an apostille or legalised in their country of issue. Only International Baccalaureate diplomas and European Baccalaureate certificates do not have to undergo this procedure.

Legalisation is done by the Polish consul in the country of the document's issuance. Legalisation confirms that an official document (e.g. certificate or higher education diploma) is original and valid in the country of issuance. You should legalise a document if you are unable to obtain an apostille.

Apostille is issued in the country that has issued the document. Apostille is a stamp or a printed form that allows for official documents (i.e. certificates and diplomas) issued in one country to be legally recognised in another. Apostille has been introduced with the Hague Convention Abolishing the Requirement of Legalisation for Foreign Public Documents of 5 October 1961 and can be used in countries which signed the convention.

If you are a holder of documents issued in any of the countries mentioned below you should provide them to the one of the institutions authorised to issue the apostille:

Albania, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burundi, Cape Verde, China (Hong Kong, Macao), Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Grenada, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea (Republic of Korea), Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Lesotho, Liberia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malta, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Monaco, Mongolia, Montenegro, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niue, Norway, Oman, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russian Federation, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, San Marino, Sao Tome and Principe, Serbia, Seychelles, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States of America, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela.